Book signings in conjunction with the 350th New Jersey Anniversary
Macculloch Hall Historical Museum (MHHM) is celebrating the 350th anniversary of New Jersey with book signings by authors whose work explores aspects of the state’s history. On Sunday June 22ndBeth Shaw will be available to sign and sell the book “Images of America: Mount Tabor” to museum visitors during touring hours 1pm – 4pm. Visitors may also wish to visit the second floor gallery exhibit “Made in New Jersey: A Celebration of Decorative and Fine Arts” which stars the Museum’s collection of New Jersey stoneware, silver, and artists such as Thomas Nast, A.B. Frost and Edward Kranich.
Ms. Shaw will be available to discuss this book that she co-authored with Mount Tabor Historical Society members Michelle LaConto Munn, David Jones, Andy Pillsbury, Carol Pillsbury and Lori Brown. The Society took on the challenge of organizing a special collection of images for the Images of America book as a way of sharing the history of Mount Tabor with all area residents, past and present. “Mount Tabor” is a detailed collection of some of the photographs, maps and brief histories of this nearly 140-year-old community. The book offers a unique and organized look into the past lives of early Mount Tabor residents and founding families, from the early days of the establishment of the Camp Meeting Association through the transformation of the tent communities into cottage dwellings. Tucked in the heart of Morris County, an enclave of charming Victorian homes and unique public buildings clustered along narrow, hilly streets, the town pays homage to its distinctive past and embraces the community spirit of its founders. One of New Jersey’s earliest permanent Methodist Camp Meeting grounds, Mount Tabor embodied the austere evangelical fervor of 1869. As early as 1891, the religious summer colony expanded its recreational activities, and by 1912 Mount Tabor was more summer resort than religious retreat. After World War II, most of the 350 cottages were converted to year round use, and Mount Tabor has become a viable community within Parsippany, welcoming people from all religions and backgrounds. Today, the unpretentious charm of its humble beginnings permeates the quaint community, and modern residents, like their forebears, are drawn to the rich spiritual heritage of good will and the delightful cottages that invite fellowship.
The mission of the Mount Tabor Historical Society is to preserve and restore the Victorian heritage of Mount Tabor, and to increase community awareness and participation in planning for its future – in harmony with its past. The Society maintains a growing collection of historic documents, photographs, postcards and memorabilia. We are pleased to display selected items in the Richardson History House, a Camp Meeting Cottage Museum which is open the second Sunday of each month from 12 to 4pm or by appointment.
Book signings with other New Jersey authors will continue throughout the spring, please visitmaccullochhall.org for dates. Admission includes meeting with authors, house tours, and gallery visits between 1pm and 4pm. In addition to book signings the Museum is also presenting a speaker series to celebrate the 350th anniversary taking place at 4:30pm on the second Sunday of each month through June. Tickets for Sunday programs go on sale from 1pm on the day of the program, no advance sales. House tours (regular admission applies) take place throughout the afternoon, the last tour ticket is sold at 3pm. Visitors can also enjoy the upstairs gallery exhibit “Thomas Nast Brings Down Boss Tweed,” featuring the political cartoons Thomas Nast created attacking Boss Tweed and Tammany Hall, prior to the speaker programs. Also on display, “Controversies” presents challenging subject matter on New Jersey history topics and events which had national significance: medical experimentation, immigration, and the right to die. A second series of programs, related to the “Controversies” exhibit takes place on the first Sunday of each month through June. Visitmaccullochhall.org for more details.
Macculloch Hall Historical Museum preserves the history of the Macculloch-Miller families, the Morris area community, and the legacy of its founder W. Parsons Todd through its historic site, collections, exhibits, and educational and cultural programs. The Museum is open for house and exhibit tours on Wednesdays, Thursdays & Sundays from 1 to 4 p.m. Adults $8; Seniors & Students $6; Children 6 – 12 $4. Members and children under 5 are free. The gardens at Macculloch Hall Historical Museum are open Monday to Friday 9am – 4pm and Sundays 1pm – 4pm unless posted otherwise. Please check our website for any holiday closings. Call (973) 538-2404 ext. 10, visit our websitewww.maccullochhall.org find us on Facebook. Macculloch Hall Historical Museum, 45 Macculloch Ave., Morristown, NJ 07960. Macculloch Hall Historical Museum received an operating support grant from the New Jersey Historical Commission, a division of the Department of State. Macculloch Hall Historical Museum is a nonprofit educational affiliate of the W. Parsons Todd Foundation.
Image attached _ MMHM_Beth Shaw and Mount Tabor Historical Society_book signing_June 22
Latest posts by MJMedia (see all)
- Winter Warm-Up Chili Cook-Off Supports Animal Rescue - February 10, 2016
- Become A Literacy Volunteer - February 10, 2016
- Scholarships Available For High School Seniors - February 10, 2016