CCM Student Government President Jenna Curran Named National Coca-Cola Academic Scholar

County College of Morris (CCM) is proud to announce that Jenna Curran, President of the Student Government Association at CCM, has been named to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) national Coca-Cola Academic Team at the Gold award level. Curran, a resident of Denville, was nominated by CCM administrators based on her academic achievement, leadership and engagement in college and community service.

Curran is a standout, vibrant student, who has made many valuable contributions to the college and local community during her time at CCM. She is pursuing a career in government with a pre-law track foundation beginning with an associate degree in Liberal Arts from CCM. She presents strong with a 3.689 GPA and has chaired and co-chaired several campaigns including, Escape the Vape with the Randolph Health Department and the CCM Voting Initiative with the League of Women Voters. She is the founder of CCMKIND to ensure CCM remains an all-encompassing, inclusive campus, where students’ voices are heard. Curran is also a member of the PTK honor society. Outside of school, she interned at the Denville Municipal Court and Police Department. She is a member of the Denville Municipal Alliance Committee and Denville’s Green Team- Sustainable New Jersey Committee. 

Recently Dr. Anthony J. Iacono, president of CCM, recognized Curran’s achievement as a Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar in the All-USA Academic Competition by hosting her parents, Lisa and Mike, at a ceremony to congratulate her on this prestigious award. Her father is a CCM Business Administration graduate.

“Jenna is an exceptional student and leader at our college,” said Iacono. “Although we are not surprised that she has been named a recipient, we are incredibly proud of her. Her hard work, outgoing personality, eagerness to help others, and her vision for a better tomorrow are just some of what she brings to CCM and into the community every day. She really is a winner in every imaginable way and we expect to see big things from her as she continues her journey in life.”

 “The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. The foundation recognizes 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars with almost $200,000 in scholarships annually. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals,” said Hopkins.

Coca-Cola Academic Team members will be recognized in statewide and local ceremonies. There will also be an international recognition at the PTK annual convention, held virtually April 8-10.

Along with Rutgers University and Fordham University, Curran is applying to the University of Miami to continue her endeavors.

PTK is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The honor society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members. Learn more at 

To learn more about succeeding as a student at CCM, visit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.