Mendham Resident and CCM Professor Receives National Faculty of the Year Award

Dr. Janet Eber, a decades-long member of the County College of Morris (CCM) faculty and an instrumental leader in shaping the quality of teaching and learning at CCM, has been selected to receive the Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty Award from the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).


Eber, a resident of Mendham, is chair of the Department of English and Philosophy and an English professor at CCM. The 2019-20 Academic Year marks her 50th year on the CCM faculty. 


The Dale P. Parnell award, named in honor of a former AACC president, recognizes professors for their passion for students and the classroom, willingness to support students inside and outside of the classroom, participation in college committees and the life of their college and service that exceeds what is required to ensure students are successful.


“Dr. Eber has impacted the lives of thousands of students. She is a stellar professor with an impact that has a profound influence on CCM,” said Dr. Anthony J. Iacono. “It is no exaggeration to state that CCM would not be the quality institution of higher education that it is today without her many contributions. She also is a highly sought after mentor and advisor by students and also other faculty members who recognize her commitment to their success.”


At CCM, Eber directs the work of 60 professors. She has served as chair of the college’s Curriculum Committee for more than a decade and also has served as chair of the college’s Academic Standards Committee, General Education Task Force and Academic Integrity Review Board. She has chaired numerous search committees and was interim dean of the School of Liberal Arts three times.


“I desperately wanted to be a teacher and have such a great love for my discipline. I am so fortunate to be part of this community,” said Eber. “Receiving this award is such an honor. I’m gratified beyond measure.”


“In all that she does, Dr. Eber is a model of character. She lives up to the high expectations she sets for her faculty and students, expresses the courage of her convictions and leads a career of selfless service,” said Dr. John Marlin, vice president of academic affairs. “She is a treasure for CCM, and is most worthy of this recognition.”


The award was presented to Eber on March 30 at the national AACC conference.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.