Morris Arts Announces 2016 Celebrate The Arts Awards

Mark calendars now and join Morris Arts as it recognizes individuals and organizations noted for their outstanding accomplishments, commitment and contribution towards encouraging and fostering the arts in our community.


Celebrate The Arts Awards is set to be held Wed., March 30, with a reception at 5 p.m. and program at 6:30 p.m., at the the Morris Museum’s Bickford Theatre, in Morristown. This is a free community event honoring excellence in the arts.  Register online at; or call 973- 285-5115.


2016 Celebrate the Arts Award Winners include Outstanding Arts Organization:Art in the Atrium; Outstanding Corporation: Mondelēz International, Inc.; Outstanding Arts Advocate: Morristown Mayor Timothy Dougherty;

Outstanding Arts Educators: Paula Davidoff and Carolyn Hunt; Outstanding Professional in the Arts:Danielle and Chris Merzatta, Jewelers; Special Recognition:Andrea Lekberg of The Artist Baker


Visual Artist Tyler Harker, winner of the Eugenie Coladarci Arts Scholarship and Composer Zachary Catron, winner of the Elaine Ehlers Arts Scholarships  will also be introduced at the event. Among scholarship applicants an additional student merited Honorable Mention: Tubist T.J. Graf.
As an added treat, jazz guitarist Alex Wintz, the 2006 Elaine Ehlers Arts Scholarship winner, will add his exceptional talents to the evening with a short performance.


Morris Arts is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1973 dedicated to building community through the arts. Using the arts to inspire, connect and engage, Morris Arts serves as a resource for Morris County with a special focus on arts programming in the schools and in the community, arts advocacy, and support of the Morris Area community of artists and arts organizations.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.