Never too late to learn about the history of Randolph. Why not spend some time on a Sunday at the Randolph Museum, formerly known as the Museum of Old Randolph.
The Historical Society of Old Randolph (HSOR) oversees The Randolph Museum, which is open on Sunday afternoons April through Oct. from 1 p.m.-4 p.m. Formed in 1979, HSOR is a non-profit organization created to promote and preserve the unique heritage of Randolph Township. Monthly meetings are held to plan activities, discuss projects and share stories about Randolph’s past.
At the museum, visitors can see artifact displays exhibited from in an out of Randolph that include an old-fashioned schoolroom, home life, local industry, farming, and the Mt. Freedom resort industry. Museum-goers can gain an insight into the industries that brought the area from colonial times to present.
Opened in 1988, the museum had been housed in a two-family summer cottage that was one of Randolph’s forty-five bungalow colonies, once popular summer vacation destinations during the township’s resort era from 1905 through the 1960s.
In late summer of 2005, the museum moved into the Brundage House, an 1867 building adjacent to Freedom Park. The museum’s new location was made possible when the 2004 Town Council granted permission for the Randolph Museum to occupy the entire ground floor.
Individuals or groups seeking a guided tour may e-mail email@example.com or call 973-989-7095.
More information about the HSOR and the museum may be found at https://www.randolphnj.org/about_randolph/historical_society.