Freeholders Honor Hanover Tigers National Junior Pee Wee Champion Football Team

The Hanover Tigers football team has been honored by the Morris County Board of Freeholders for winning the first-ever National Pro Football Hall of Fame Junior Pee Wee Football Championship, in a thrilling game played in late December in Canton, Ohio.
The boys’ team, comprised of players in grades 5 and 6 from Hanover Township, won the championship by defeating Chambersburg, Pa in the semi-finals by a score of 27-0, and then defeated Ogden, N.Y., 14-12 in the championship match – scoring on a touchdown pass caught with just six seconds left in the game.
“We are so proud of these young men for representing their town, their county, and – most important themselves and their families – in such a positive manner,’’ said Morris County Freeholder Director Doug Cabana. “We congratulate you.’’
Deputy Freeholder Director Christine Myers added, “The freeholders and all residents of Morris County are extremely proud of your success, which reflects highly on the hard work and dedication you put into this season.’’
Coach Vinny Laracca and his coaches received a county resolution of congratulations, while the 21 players who represented their team at the championship event received county certificates, and a special award from Morris County Sheriff James M. Gannon. Also at the ceremony were Hanover Mayor Ron Francioli and Committeemember Thomas “Ace’’ Gallagher.
Members of the Hanover Tigers who traveled to Ohio for the championship games are: Colin Aker, Alex Birecki, Jacob Birecki, Caeden Burkhard, Jake Cefolo, Lucas A’ddozio, Andrew Deehan, Jonathan Erhardt, Michael Fahmie, Aidan Gallagher, Kevin Graham, Adam Katz, Matthew Lahoe, Marcello Laracca, Anthony Morales, Patrick Mulligan, Tyler Petty, Michael Taccetta, Patrick Turchiano, Peter Urato, and Chase Wright.
During an outstanding regular season under the direction Laracca and his staff, the Tigers went undefeated, with a 9-0 record, and were the American Conference champions in the Morris County Youth Football League, having completed four consecutive undefeated seasons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.